Final NaNo week

I haven’t been updating my progress on this blog during NaNoWriMo as I thought I would, but I guess that’s a good thing since I should be expending all my writing energy on the novel. I started off really well during the month in terms of word count and daily activity, but eventually the more I learned about what my story was about and needed to be, the less applicable my outline became. I deleted my outline because all the ideas I had didn’t work anymore since I had changed my story.

I also realized that the pacing of my novel is extremely off and suddenly I have new characters to add into the picture which takes more work to figure out. I wanted my protagonist to spend a week and a half in her home town and then the majority of the novel, on her month trip in San Francisco. Unfortunately, since I was still figuring out how and why she goes to San Francisco, most of my novel is spent in her hometown and I’m just now getting to her arrival in San Francisco.

Here’s a snapshot of what my novel stats look like right now.

Screenshot 2013-11-24 12.13.23

 

The graph is really helpful as a visual but also depressing when I see how far behind I am lol. But honestly, I’m really proud of the fact that it’s been three years since I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo and I’ve written more than I ever have before. Yes, a lot of the story is crap and scenes will be deleted, dialogue condensed, description expanded, but I have the skeleton of a novel, folks! It has a chance to live after this!

I can always come back to this novel now and enjoy the personal connection I have to it as my time here in San Francisco. Especially since I’ll be here for an entire year, I will take the time and experiences I have to continue adding to the story. My protagonist and I are going to figure it out together šŸ™‚

 

One thought on “Final NaNo week

  1. Pingback: NaNo: Surviving the Home Stretch | I Am NaNo

let's talk:

