Planning and plotting your novel

I’m taking some time out today to work on structuring my novel for NaNoWriMo and I’ve been finding a lot of cool methods. There’s obviously no perfect way to do this, but it’s worth reading and trying some different ones until you find one that really speaks to you.

1. The Snowflake Method

2. How to Make Sure your NaNoWriMo Project isn’t a Hot Mess

3. 25 Things You Should Do Before Starting Your Next Novel

4. The Jim Butcher Way

5. Marathon Training to Finish Your Book

I’m using Scrivener to organize all my character sketches, research, and notes, and then when it’s time for the writing, I’ll also be typing the novel in here. I haven’t decided if I’ll also handwrite my story as well, because if I’m not at home with my laptop, I don’t want to lose precious writing time. But typing up my handwritten copy to check the wordcount doesn’t sound like fun either…

Last thing, here’s one of 2012’s author pep talks by Melissa McCafferty that I really like. Also, I really need to read her Jessica Darling series!

2 thoughts on “Planning and plotting your novel

let's talk:

