“A City So Big You Gotta’ Say It Twice”: A Poem by Wajahat Ali and Ishmael Reed

GOATMILK: An intellectual playground

A City So Big You Gotta’ Say It Twice

Wajahat Ali and Ishmael Reed

I am at the 9/11 memorial.
2 presidents and their first ladies are holding hands.
Yo-Yo Ma is playing Bach on the cello.
I look to my right, I’m standing next to a Marine.
I look to my left, a man in a FDNY shirt is crying.
I look in front of me, a man in a yarmulke is capturing the scene on his iPhone.
I look behind me, there’s a New York crowd.

I am with our NHK film crew, who are following me around.
All this footage will appear on Japanese television.
I am in New York for our play “The Domestic Crusaders.”
It’s not only the tenth anniversary of 9/11,
It’s also the tenth anniversary of this play’s birth.
Yesterday was our premiere.
We received a New York Welcome.
New York has always overdosed us…

View original post 178 more words

3 thoughts on ““A City So Big You Gotta’ Say It Twice”: A Poem by Wajahat Ali and Ishmael Reed

  1. Pingback: Award-Winning Poet Tony Medina’s BROKE BAROQUE is Available in Print and eBook Formats | 2Leaf Press

  2. Pingback: Award-Winning Poet Tony Medina’s Publishes BROKE BAROQUE in Print and eBook Formats | 2Leaf Press

  3. Pingback: Award-Winning Poet Tony Medina Publishes BROKE BAROQUE in Print and eBook Formats | 2Leaf Press

let's talk:

