and then you’ll be free

have you seen him?
the white, godless, privileged male
version of my self

he exists out in the realm of my mind between black and white
where only grey matters
where the divine can’t reach me
where the poor don’t touch me
where the women don’t control me
where the minorities don’t dilute me

my liberation is bound up in his
only his restless, sinful soul will quench my thirst for purpose
for true fulfillment

because you see the way i am right now
i am the lowest of the low
the poorest of the poor
my shackles and fetters will not vanish simply if i turn my head away from mecca
my skin color still remains
my gender still remains
i’m still me
in your eyes, i will never escape from the bondage of inferiority

i can only be free when i become him
the white, godless, privileged male
version of my self
and then i will rise
rise
rise

and you will stand beside me
and say, “see, that wasn’t so hard was it? now why can’t the rest of your people do that?”

let's talk:

