Figment Activity

So I’ve been uploading a lot of my work on Figment.com for some cool contests and just to add to the library, so I’d love for you all to give me some feedback. It’s kinda crowded on Figment unfortunately and not to sound pretentious or anything, but people give out hearts (equivalent to Facebook likes) quite eagerly to friends and low-quality writing.

It’s hard to feel genuine and appreciated there sometimes and I’d really like to grow and hone my craft with serious writers who aren’t afraid to give you their honest opinion and take their time with what they do. The contests they have are always really cool, but it’s hard to have a chance in them too. I’ve read some of the finalists and they’re only based on the Figment users and then judged by the guest judges who are amazing writers like Paolo Coehlo (my fave) and Billy Collins. I guess I just wish there was a way to combine having such open access and opportunity with more realistic standards.

Anyhow, I still encourage to try out the site as well as inkpop or any other writing communities, because it’s still better than being a solitary writer, right?

2 thoughts on “Figment Activity

  1. I’ve submitted some of my work to Figment, both for contests and not. I agree with you about the giving out of hearts, personally I only heart the works I really feel deserve it and try and give as constructive comments as kindly as I can. I think that if more and more people use the site in this way, we can influence others and make Figment a place where we can hone and improve our writing skills and help each other out. After all, Figment is a reasonably new site and therefore I think we’re still in the stage of figuring out how it works, it could take a couple years until Figment establishes a serious writing community but for now, I agree with you – its better than being a solitary writer!

let's talk:

