Figment.com-A New Writing Community

So I don’t know about you, but I am quite overwhelmed by the number of social networking sites I’m on, but hey, what’s one more, right?

There’s a new online community for young writers and readers that I just joined called Figment. I just checked it out and so far, it looks pretty cool.  The tagline is “Write Yourself In.”

Well, thank you I just might do that!

Since I’m new to it, I’m not sure how different Figment is from inkPop, another popular teen writing site owned by HarperTeen that will surely be its competitor.

The site allows you to read published book excerpts, writing contests, a forum, a library, a writing desk (how cute!) and heart people’s writing that you like. You also get cool badges! Right now, I have a “newbie” badge:)

The founders of Figment said they first envisioned it to be a literary Facebook for the teenage set, but found out that teens weren’t interested in “friending” each other but rather they wanted to read and write new content. A unique feature of Figment is that it wants to be read on computers or cell phones like the Japanese cellphone novels.

I agree with this. Meeting fellow writers is great, but I don’t want to go on another site to just talk. I can do that with my own friends on Facebook. What I don’t have on Facebook is access to people who enjoy literature the same way I do. Actually, what am I saying, most of my friends enjoy literature; we’re all honors/AP nerds!

I know lots of you are eager to get your writing seen by agents and publishers, but just know that everyone on the site is thinking the same thing, so there will lots of for lack of a better word, crap to sift through just like at a normal publishing house.

If you’re smart though and take constructive criticism by readers, edit, edit, edit, network with others, give good feedback, I guarantee your stuff will rise to the top and attract attention.The more time you put into it, the better results you’ll find. This is my observation based on the writers who do well on inkpop.

You can read more about the launch of Figment in this New York Times article.

If you do decide you want to sign up for Figment, make sure to follow me and we can be writing/reading buddies, yayyy!

let's talk:

