A Break for Writing

“As for my next book, I am going to hold myself from writing it till I have it impending in me:  grown heavy in my mind like a ripe pear; pendant, gravid, asking to be cut or it will fall.”

-Virginia Woolf

School’s out for over a month, so now there’s no excuses when it comes to my writing. I can’t run away and do homework and work on a project to avoid getting through that darn first draft of my several novel projects. I just want to finish something–anything! I’ll be happy with my productivity level then.

I’m going to be really open with what I get involved in because I want to allow my creativity to move me and not feel stifled, so here’s a list of things of writerly/artsy things I plan to do in the next few weeks.

  • spoken word
  • graphic poetry
  • flash fiction
  • calligraphy
  • concrete (shape) poetry
  • short story
  • fable

Ahhh the sound of silence embracing the scratching of a pen and the tap-tap-tapping of my fingers on the keyboard…I could get used to that.

Oh and did I mention I can finally read books!?! Like books of my own choice, not assigned reading for class!?!

I have an insanely long list of books to get to and I’m so excited to be able to drop everything and read. Yes, I know I am a pathetic, lonely bookworm who finds solace between the pages of a book and fictional characters, but come on, sometimes you need an escape. And believe me, after the rough weeks I’ve gone through, I need one.

So what ambitious writing plans do you have over winter break (if you’re lucky enough to have one)? Is there anything new you want to lose yourself in that you haven’t done before?

Feel free to share!

let's talk:

